Iowa City Council special election: Polls open at 7 a.m. Tuesday

Ann Freerks, Bruce Teague on ballot

(file photo)
(file photo)

IOWA CITY — A quick two-month campaign will come to an end Tuesday when Iowa City voters choose the newest council member.

Ann Freerks, 51 and a former Planning and Zoning Commission member, and Bruce Teague, 42, a local business owner, are facing off for an at-large council seat, which will expire at the end of 2021. The seat has been open since council member Kingsley Botchway II resigned in July to take a job with Waterloo schools.

Read more about the candidates’ views on Iowa City issues here.

Polls will be open tomorrow from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. and voters can go to their regular polling place. Click here for a list of polling places.

Freerks and Teague beat out three other candidates in last month’s primary.

Iowa City Council members earn a salary of $7,259.20.

The winner of Tuesday’s election will join Mayor Jim Throgmorton and members Susan Mims, Pauline Taylor, John Thomas, Rockne Cole and Mazahir Salih on the council.

l Comments: (319) 339-3172;

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.